The page you are looking for is temporarily unavailable.
Please try again later

US News Six Labour frontbenchers quit over Brexit vote

08:35  14 june  2018
08:35  14 june  2018 Source:

Labour backlash over Corbyn's 'new single market'

  Labour backlash over Corbyn's 'new single market' Jeremy Corbyn is demanding a "new single market" deal for the UK after Brexit and he wants to make full access to the EU market a main objective. But the move by the Labour leader to attempt to avoid a Labour split on Brexit in the Commons next week appears to have backfired already.Last month in the House of Lords 83 Labour peers defied his order to abstain and voted for UK membership of the European Economic Area (EEA) - the so-called 'Norway model' - after Brexit.

ANOTHER shadow cabinet minister quits and five Labour frontbenchers vote to hold a second EU referendum in yet more Brexit Bill humiliation for Jeremy Corbyn. Four Labour MPs have so far quit Jeremy Corbyn's frontbench over the Brexit Bill, and more could follow today.

Junior Labour frontbenchers Laura Smith, Ged Killen, Ellie Reeves, Tonia Antoniazzi and Anna McMorrin stepped down from their roles on Wednesday night. Their resignations were revealed moments before the result of a vote on a Lords Brexit Bill amendment which called for the

SNP MPs empty their benches in the House of Commons © Sky News Screen Grab SNP MPs empty their benches in the House of Commons

Jeremy Corbyn has suffered a 90-strong rebellion over a Brexit vote on remaining in the European Economic Area, with six of his MPs resigning from their frontbench roles.

Junior Labour frontbenchers Laura Smith, Ged Killen, Ellie Reeves, Tonia Antoniazzi and Anna McMorrin were the first to step down from their roles on Wednesday night.

Their resignations were revealed moments before the result of a vote on a Lords Brexit bill amendment which called for the government to make remaining in the EEA a negotiating objective.

The government said before the vote it disagreed with the amendment and the Labour frontbench had been ordered to abstain.

MPs to vote on amended Brexit Bill on 12 June

  MPs to vote on amended Brexit Bill on 12 June MPs will vote on the Brexit Bill which the Lords have suggested 15 amendments to next week. Tory chief whip Julian Smith sent a letter to his Conservative colleagues announcing the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill will be coming back to the Commons on 12 June.He requested all Tory MPs be on the parliamentary estate as there will be several votes on the bill which has suffered 15 defeats at the hands of the House of Lords.

Shadow Welsh secretary Jo Stevens resigned on Friday over the Labour leader’s decision to impose a three-line-whip over the Brexit vote . Tulip Siddiq, a shadow home office minister, has also quit – and at least six frontbenchers are reportedly prepared to vote against triggering Article 50.

SIX Labour frontbenchers resigned from their roles this evening ahead of a key Brexit vote on Brexit vote : What are MPs voting for in the EU withdrawal bill TODAY? Why is it important? Brexit QUIT SHOCK: May suffers humiliating BLOW - minister resigns over her Brexit 'fudge'.

Related: PMQs: May and Corbyn clash over Brexit and Grenfell (ITN News)

The House of Commons voted 327 to 126 to reject the proposed amendment, with 74 Labour MPs rebelling against their party's whip to vote in favour of EEA membership.

A further 15 Labour MPs rebelled in breach of the abstain order to vote against EEA membership, while one Labour MP, Susan Elan Jones, also defied the party's official position to act as a teller for the vote. Rosie Duffield then became the sixth Labour MP to quit her frontbench role.

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn said: "I would like to thank Laura, Ged, Ellie, Tonia and Anna for their work with the Labour frontbench. "I look forward to working with all five in a Labour government that invests in all our communities and gives real hope to our people.

"I understand the difficulties MPs representing constituencies which voted strongly for Leave or Remain have on the EEA amendment to the EU Withdrawal Bill. "The Labour Party respects the outcome of the EU referendum and does not support the EEA or 'Norway model' as it is not the right for option for Britain.

Claims of 'Brexit dividend' for NHS dismissed as 'tosh'

  Claims of 'Brexit dividend' for NHS dismissed as 'tosh' A Tory MP has labelled claims a "Brexit dividend" will help fund a cash injection for the NHS as "tosh", with Theresa May's pledge of more money for the health service coming under scrutiny. The prime minister said the NHS will receive an extra £20bn a year in real terms funding (once inflation is taken into account) by 2024, an average increase of 3.4% every year for the next five years.But the government's decision to link part of the extra money to the infamous Vote Leave pledge to spend the money Britain sends to European Union on the NHS instead has provoked much comment.

'Young voters were fooled' Marr skewers Labour frontbencher over Corbyn's Brexit stance. ANDREW MARR skewered a Labour frontbencher over Jeremy Corbyn’s view on Brexit saying young people were “fooled” into voting for the party.

Labour DIVIDED: Embarrassment for Corbyn as frontbencher QUITS over leader’s Brexit stance. Mr Cunningham, who had been in his frontbench post for 15 months, defied Labour whips to vote in favour of Britain remaining in the EU customs union after Brexit .

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn © getty Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn "It would leave us with next to no say over rules we have to follow, it does not allow us to negotiate a new comprehensive UK-EU customs union and it fails to resolve the Irish border issue.

"But we are not voting with the government on this amendment because the Conservatives offer no plan for securing the full tariff-free access to the EU's internal market, which is so vital for jobs and living standards in our country. "Labour will continue to use every opportunity to hold the government to account and protect jobs, rights and living standards."

Ms Smith resigned from her role in the junior shadow cabinet, while the other five were parliamentary private secretaries. In a series of tweets Ms Smith, the MP for Crewe and Nantwich which voted to leave the EU, said she was "tired of being told that I am 'blocking Brexit' by criticising the government's approach to negotiations". She said she voted against remaining in the EEA.

Brexit Secretary could be set to quit over Irish border row as he issues ultimatum to Theresa May due to 'fudged' customs deal .
Friends of the Brexit Secretary suggested his frustrations could spill over, after No 10 circulated proposals that critics say could shackle the UK to the customs union indefinitely. The plans, on the so-called Irish backstop, appeared to open up the possibility that the UK could remain bound by EU tariffs and rules until a resolution is found for the border problem.Mr Davis yesterday refused to say whether he would stay in his job if the plans go ahead without his approval, saying: ‘That’s a question, I think, for the Prime Minister to be honest.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!