Sport NBA awards 2017: LeBron James left off MVP finalists list

03:40  20 may  2017
03:40  20 may  2017 Source:   Sporting News

NBA award finalists 2017: LeBron James not a candidate to win MVP

  NBA award finalists 2017: LeBron James not a candidate to win MVP LeBron James is playing on a different level these playoffs but the Cavaliers star will not win his fifth MVP award. The NBA announced three finalists for its first-ever awards show on Friday and James didn't make the cut despite averaging 26.4 points, 8.6 rebounds and 8.7 assists during the regular season.Instead the honor will go to either Kawhi Leonard, Russell Westbrook or James Harden. Westbrook, who averaged a triple-double this past season, is currently listed as the favorite to win.The Rockets, Spurs and Warriors are well represented with a host of finalists. Here are the candidates for each major category.

The website you were trying to reach is temporarily unavailable. If you are the owner of this website, please contact Technical Support as soon as possible.

LeBron James Thinks Dion Waiters Should Come Off the Bench | Basketball

The nominees for NBA's MVP have been announced, and a certain "best player on the planet" is noticeably absent.

The list, which was unveiled on Friday ahead of Game 2 of the Cavs-Celtics series, included Russell Westbrook, James Harden and Kawhi Leonard, but snubbed James.

MORE: All-NBA teams 2017

Westbrook is far and away considered the favorite for the award after averaging a triple-double for the season, powering the Thunder to a 45-win season and pulling down 42 triple-doubles during the season. However, his team lost to Harden's Rockets, who in turn lost to Leonard's Spurs. Leonard, by the way, is listed as questionable for Game 3 against the Spurs in the Western Conference finals.

LeBron James' teammates struggle to explain his 'crazy' MVP snub

  LeBron James' teammates struggle to explain his 'crazy' MVP snub LeBron James played Game 2 against the Celtics Friday night without realizing what millions of other NBA fans already knew — he is not one of the three finalists for the NBA MVP Award.The NBA announced the MVP finalists about 10 minutes before the Cavs-Celtics game tipped off. James Harden, Russell Westbrook and Kawhi Leonard are the three finalists for the award, which will be announced June 26. This marks the first time James has finished outside the top three in MVP voting since 2008.James scored 30 points — and could have scored far more if needed — in the Cavaliers' historic 130-86 win against Boston.

mysql server not found. NBA Playoffs 2017 : Pacers' hopes vs

Give and Go: 2017 NBA Awards Picks. Does Russell Westbrook or James Harden deserve MVP ? And what about the other awards ? Iguodala, by contrast, ranks sixth in the league in plus-minus (just ahead of LeBron James ) for the best team in the league.

James meanwhile is chugging along, scoring 38 points on 14-of-24 shooting in a Game 1 massacre against the Celtics in the East finals.

Here is the full list of awards finalists:

Most Valuable Player

Russell Westbrook

James Harden

Kawhi Leonard

NBA Coach of the Year

Mike D’Antoni

Erik Spoelstra

Gregg Popovich

NBA Sixth Man of the Year

Eric Gordon

Andre Iguodala

Lou Williams

NBA Rookie of the Year

LeBron James © (Getty Images) LeBron James

Malcolm Brogdon

Joel Embiid

Dario Saric

NBA Defensive Player of the Year

Draymond Green

Rudy Gobert

Kawhi Leonard

NBA Most Improved Player

Giannis Antetokounmpo

Rudy Gobert

Nikola Jokic

Best Style

Russell Westbrook

Dwyane Wade

Iman Shumpert

Block of the Year

Hassan Whiteside on Pascal Siakam

Kristaps Porzingis on Spencer Dinwiddie

Kawhi Leonard on James Harden

Game-Winner of the Year

Tyler Uulis vs. Boston Celtics

Kyrie Irving vs. Golden State Warriors

Russell Westbrook vs. Denver Nuggets

Assist of the Year

Draymond Green to Stephen Curry to Kevin Durant

Nikola Jokic to Wilson Chandler

Chris Paul to Brandon Bass

Dunk of the Year

Larry Nance Jr. on Brook Lopez

Zach LaVine on Alex Len

Victor Oladipo on Dwight Howard

Performance of the Year

James Harden vs. Knicks

Devin Booker vs. Celtics

Russell Westbrook vs. Magic

Klay Thompson vs. Pacers

LeBron James wins NBA's J. Walter Kennedy Award for community service .
Cavaliers forward LeBron James may not have been named an MVP finalist this year, but he won't be shut out from winning at least one of the NBA's postseasonOn Sunday, James was named the 2016-17 J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award winner, which is given annually to a player, coach or athletic trainer who shows outstanding service and dedication to the community, according to a league press release.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!