Sport Kesler named 2016-17 Selke Trophy finalist along with Bergeron, Koivu

03:05  20 april  2017
03:05  20 april  2017 Source:

Who will take home the NHL's top regular season awards?

  Who will take home the NHL's top regular season awards? Regular season awards in sports are an interesting thing. Fans and analysts spend day after leading up to the end of the season pouring over candidates and scrutinizing how each one of them performs. And then, once the playoffs start, all that chatter suddenly gets chucked to the side until postseason play expires. The NHL's practice is no different. We drool over highlight reels of crazy goals and out-of-this-world saves, only to forget about the whole thing until the awards show that takes place after the Stanley Cup Final is over.Sure, a couple of awards have already been "handed out.

Along with Bergeron , centers Ryan Kesler of the Anaheim Ducks and Anze Kopitar of the Los Angeles Kings were named as finalists Thursday. It's the fifth straight season Bergeron is a Selke finalist .

The 2016 - 17 Selke Trophy is a tougher decision than in the past. Perennial contender Patrice Bergeron is in the mix with Mikko Koivu and Mikael Backlund.

  Kesler named 2016-17 Selke Trophy finalist along with Bergeron, Koivu © Kirby Lee

Anaheim Ducks center Ryan Kesler has been named one of the three finalists for the 2016-17 Selke Trophy as the NHL’s best defensive forward. And unless you’ve been under a rock or are a Canucks fan, the announcement wasn’t a surprise.

Playing on the Ducks ‘shutdown’ line with wingers Andrew Cogliano and Jakob Silfverberg, Kesler is tasked with blanketing the opposing team’s best line on a nightly basis. And while his defensive play buoyed the Ducks to a fifth-straight Pacific Division title, Kesler was no slouch on the offensive side of the puck as well. The center posted 22 goals and 56 points on the season in route to his second-career NHL All-Star appearance.

Joining Kesler as finalists are Boston’s Patrice Bergeron and Minnesota’s Mikko Koivu.

Kesler won the Selke Trophy on one previous occasion (2010-11 with the Canucks) and been a finalist for the award now five times. He joins Samuel Pahlsson as the only other Ducks player to be named a finalist.

The winner will be announced June 21 at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Ducks emerge as favorite as they take on Edmonton .
The Oilers and the Ducks square off in Game 1 of their second-round Stanley Cup playoff series Wednesday at Honda Center. For visiting Edmonton, it is uncharted waters for a franchise that missed the playoffs in the 10 previous seasons. Anaheim, meanwhile, emerged as the favorite to win the Western Conference after the surprising first-round elimination of the Chicago Blackhawks, who fell to the Nashville Predators.The Oilers won their opening series against banged-up San Jose in unexpected fashion by shutting down the Sharks in six games.


—   Share news in the SOC. Networks
This is interesting!